top of page

Hello, I’m Angela Fenwick

I was born 1969 with Hydrocephalus and Myelomeningocele Spina Bifida, luckily my hydro disappeared after a few months , but I didn't start to walk until I was 2 yrs old, my family were told to prepare for me being in a wheelchair for the rest of my life but I was lucky. I had problems with everything below my waist, so I had a Urostomy installed, but my bowels are currently taking a turn for the worse after nearly 50 years.

I went to an ordinary infant and junior school, and senior school, got all the normal qualifications, stopped on in further education to train in office work. Eventually went on to work in several office jobs, but got bored so retrained in electronics and went to work in my dream job making electronic devices for the scientific industry, only to have a nervous breakdown 15 years ago, unfortunately I have never been able to go back to work as I've been diagnosed with other illnesses, like Rheumatoid and Osteoarthritis, Fibromyalgia, ultimately leading me to need a wheelchair now, not full time yet but don't think it's gonna be that long before I do, I'm currently waiting to have a Colostomy installed, but can't until I lose approx 60 lbs so it's safer for the anaesthetics, but shifting it is harder than putting it on,

All my lower limb joints are suffering because of my walking gait, I'm on crutches full time which has a knock on effect with my shoulder, arms and hand joints, I'm on loads of medicines to keep me going. I do have my independence, I have my own car, I drive and live in my own bungalow, I keep busy by crafting and making things , it keeps me out of trouble lol only thing I don't like is living on my own.

bottom of page